Polling during tutorials

Over the next academic year (2014-15), I am going to be including opportunities throughout my lectures and tutorials for students to use polling software. It means a slight change in the pedagogy as I don’t want to merely ‘tack on’ polls but, instead, want it to be embedded within my teaching.

The folks at www.tophat.com have been exceptionally helpful to get things set up (thanks, folks) and I’m very keen to see how (and if) in-class polling affects engagement and learning. You can find more information about in-class polling by going to top hat’s website or, more generally, by doing a web search for in-class polling.

Of course, Tophat is only one company of many which focus on in-class polling. There are others. Polleverywhere and Socrative, for example,  are certainly forerunners in the online polling game. However, the support I’ve received from Tophat has been, to put it bluntly, exceptional and I like to root for the underdog. So we’ll give it a shot.

I’m really looking forward to using in-class/online polling. I hope you’ll join me on this journey as I talk about the software, how it’s being used, the pitfalls, what’s going well, students’ reactions, etc. Please feel free to join in the conversation with questions and comments.

Leave a Reply

