They say that a rolling stone gathers no moss. They also say that a moving target is harder to hit! So, taking these two pearls of wisdom, I’m looking forward to giving myself new challenges for 2016, not stagnating or resting on my laurels.

This academic term, I will be finishing  the flip teaching Child Development course, with all of the materials online. It’s been a 3-year challenge and I’m pleased to see it all coming together now.

The next challenge is to build on the interesting ideas which came out of the trip to Malaysia. There are some exciting opportunities to share teaching pedagogies and research and I am keen to see what impact my workshop in Penang will have.

Our new teaching room has now been completed and I’m looking forward to trying to innovative pedagogies in this large lab, identifying new and effective methods to engage my students (and me!) in learning and teaching. There are new apps coming out all the time and it’s exciting to try some of the out and see which stick and which fall by the wayside. My poor students are always being inundated with something new but that, really, is what teaching should be all about—not resting on laurels and not falling into a rut.

One particular goal this year is to be much better at keeping my blogs up-to-date. It’s easy to become so busy with other things that you forget to keep a record of what you are doing, not only for you, my dear reader, but also for myself!

So, 2016 should be an exciting year! I hope you’ll join me on my journey.

Leave a Reply

